Search found 23 matches

Go to advanced search

by BJ Barry
Sat Apr 07, 2018 2:39 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Breaking units cohesion tests
Replies: 1
Views: 165

Breaking units cohesion tests

HI to all, when a unit break and flee it causes all frindly units within 12" to take a cohesion test. Does the measurin of the 12" should be done by the center of the breking unit to any point of the friendly ones, or is 12" from any point of the unit the cause the test? thank you, I know is a silly...
by BJ Barry
Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:34 pm
Forum: Classical Armies
Topic: Stamlna rules
Replies: 7
Views: 544

Re: Stamlna rules

Yes Bob, but the last part of Martin's answer was about my question of when the hastati start to use the pilum. If you look at the lists with an historical eye, open order units did not fight the manipular way. Anyway, Martin surely will explain better the idea of the stamina rule.
by BJ Barry
Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:58 pm
Forum: Classical Armies
Topic: Stamlna rules
Replies: 7
Views: 544

Re: Stamlna rules

No they don't. Extraordinarii and Italian Spearmen did not fight the "Roman" way, the manipular system, so they did not get the advantage of the Stamina rules. The stamina rule is a "subterfuge" to try and apply to the rules the extremely diffult way of fighting of the roman army of the period. Trip...
by BJ Barry
Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:15 am
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: charge problem
Replies: 4
Views: 396

Re: charge problem

I throw my 2 cents in, for what it worth. In the case of the elefant I should say it can't charge, but there's the possibility that friendly units could be pushed to acomadate a charging unit, or maybe, if it doesn't have room could be that conforming is not necessary. To this one I think Martin sur...
by BJ Barry
Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:51 am
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: flanck charge and edge of the table
Replies: 3
Views: 283

Re: flanck charge and edge of the table

I think that is enough with touching the left upper corner of the infantry, and then conforming the unit should not exit the table. Anyway, the position you describe did not allow a flank charge, because part of the attacking cavalry is in the frontal zone of the infantry. As always someone wiser th...
by BJ Barry
Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:39 am
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Contact after fall back
Replies: 2
Views: 230

Contact after fall back

Hi to all, a question about one thing that happens in our latest game. A unit of close order infantry fights a cavalry one, win the combat and the cavalry must fall back. Doing so it passes another cacalry unit the is pointint in a difference direction, passing near the back of the friendly unit the...
by BJ Barry
Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:55 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Charging Phalanx
Replies: 1
Views: 210

Charging Phalanx

HI all, an hoplite of no trained phalanx want to charge two enemies that are 4" away from it. If they move more then 3" they have to drift 1" to the right. Assuming that the drift move won't let it goes to get in contact with both the enemy units, It means that the phalanx will fight only the unit i...
by BJ Barry
Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:31 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: elephant in combat VS skirmisher
Replies: 3
Views: 288

Re: elephant in combat VS skirmisher

Yes Bob, you're right, the elephant has a strenght of 4. But since its wounds are cumulative, and once he get a wound its strenght it's reduced to 3, could be that the skirmishers outnumber the Nellie. On the long terms, it's only depends on the fact that the cumulative wounds did not reduce its str...
by BJ Barry
Tue Mar 27, 2018 4:48 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Terrain interference fall back/counter-charge
Replies: 3
Views: 302

Re: Terrain interference fall back/counter-charge

Hello Martin, in the case of a fall back unit a maximum of 2", because of the diffucult terrain, that means that if this unit is part of a line of battle, all the units of the battleline, even if they won't enter the terrain, will stop in line? I mean, they only fall back 2" to keep the line of batt...
by BJ Barry
Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:52 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Mommentum and elephant
Replies: 5
Views: 404

Re: Mommentum and elephant

Yeah, sorry, I almost kill an elefant with javelins this week-end so I'll stuck on my performance without reading proporly the your question :) IN this case, I should say yes. An elefant has a strenght of 4, hits are cumulative, so getting 2 hits should means reaching his half strenght. The doubt is...

Go to advanced search