Search found 101 matches

Go to advanced search

by A Lot of Gaul
Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:27 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Battle line and incomplete rear ranks
Replies: 6
Views: 82

Re: Battle line and incomplete rear ranks

I think that the OP is asking whether, since there is only a single base in the rear rank of unit B, that single base can form a Line of Battle with both units A and C at the same time, even though the single base in B cannot be within one inch of both of the other units at the same time. If all of ...
by A Lot of Gaul
Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:48 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Command figure
Replies: 6
Views: 93

Re: Command figure

Yes, as Dave said, the Persian Great King is the singular exception. But then, he is also the 'King of the Four Corners of the World,' so he would be exceptional. 8-)
by A Lot of Gaul
Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:32 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Command figure
Replies: 6
Views: 93

Re: Command figure

Yes, that is correct. A command stand that is attached to a unit may be attacked as part of the unit. Any command stand that is not attached to a unit, may not be attacked on its own.
by A Lot of Gaul
Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:23 pm
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: New to Sword point need basing help
Replies: 5
Views: 134

Re: New to Sword point need basing help

As long as all of your models are based consistently, although they may not be ‘tournament legal,’ they will work perfectly well with the Swordpoint rules. Ideally, the bases/sabots for your Skirmishers should have twice the frontage of your formed units, and the bases for single-based models should...
by A Lot of Gaul
Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:41 pm
Forum: Classical Armies
Topic: EIR Centurions
Replies: 4
Views: 68

Re: EIR Centurions

In the EIR list from the Classical Armies book (p.46), there is an added sentence that reads, "Centurions may only lead Legionary units." From this, I infer that a centurion must accompany (i.e. be attached to) a legionary unit, and that the role of a centurion is to add to the cohesion value of the...
by A Lot of Gaul
Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:53 pm
Forum: Classical Armies
Topic: Roman Artillery?
Replies: 3
Views: 69

Re: Roman Artillery?

You are quite welcome! And don't worry, things like that happen to all of us. :)
by A Lot of Gaul
Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:49 pm
Forum: Classical Armies
Topic: Roman Artillery?
Replies: 3
Views: 69

Re: Roman Artillery?

Hi Paul, On page 4 of the Swordpoint rulebook is a brief paragraph explaining why there are no war machines (i.e. artillery) included in the rulebook or army list books. It also mentions that there is a downloadable PDF on the Gripping Beast website with rules for Torsion Artillery, for those player...
by A Lot of Gaul
Tue Oct 31, 2017 2:05 pm
Forum: Dark Age Armies
Topic: Late Imperial Romans ( Rule Book Pg 55)
Replies: 6
Views: 101

Re: Late Imperial Romans ( Rule Book Pg 55)

The Evade special rule gives formed units the ability to respond to an opponent's charge by moving directly away from the charging unit and continuing to face it, just like skirmishers do. The main difference is that formed troops may only evade charges originating in their frontal zone. However, th...
by A Lot of Gaul
Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:40 pm
Forum: Dark Age Armies
Topic: Late Imperial Romans ( Rule Book Pg 55)
Replies: 6
Views: 101

Re: Late Imperial Romans ( Rule Book Pg 55)

According to the rulebook list, Equites Illyricani have the Evade special rule, and thus may perform a skirmishing role, but only unarmored Equites Sagittarii may be based and fielded as 'true' skirmishers. I don't own a copy of the Dark Age Armies book, but hopefully someone who does will be able t...
by A Lot of Gaul
Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:13 am
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: New to Sword point need basing help
Replies: 5
Views: 134

Re: New to Sword point need basing help

If your Saga figures are currently on 25mm round bases, I would definitely go with sabots for Swordpoint. For example, 4 close order infantry or 2 cavalry figures on a 5cm x 5cm sabot would work just fine.

Go to advanced search