Search found 38 matches

Go to advanced search

by DennisW
Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:57 am
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: about skirmishers and close order unit
Replies: 1
Views: 11

Re: about skirmishers and close order unit

Hi, the skirmishers can only fight on and cannot respond to the chargers. See page 16// 1.2 last paragraph. ...not much chance of survival!
by DennisW
Sat Jul 28, 2018 7:00 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Shielded when shooting
Replies: 2
Views: 47

Re: Shielded when shooting

Thanks Wayne, I missed that; and that's the way we play it. However the final paragraph on page 13 (1.2) implies that shooters cannot use Shields.

Thanks Dennis
by DennisW
Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:48 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Shielded when shooting
Replies: 2
Views: 47

Shielded when shooting

I just had another look at this and the end of 1.2 on page 13 reads that shooters cannot claim use of shield. Whilst I agree for missle weapons that need two hands ( bows, crossbows etc) I would have thought that darts and to a certain extent javelins could claim shielded. Slings (and atl atl?) may ...
by DennisW
Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:49 am
Forum: Events
Topic: Warfare 2018
Replies: 23
Views: 1598

Re: Warfare 2018

Hello,

I just paid to enter the event. Looking forward to learning the rules.

Thanks
Dennis
by DennisW
Wed Jul 04, 2018 8:44 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Rule queries and General observations
Replies: 5
Views: 239

Re: Rule queries and General observations

Hello Martin

with regards to being drilled, can they do all those options simultaneously? for example,turn to flank and also change formation before moving?

thanks
Dennis
by DennisW
Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:28 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Rule Changes
Replies: 8
Views: 307

Re: Rule Changes

Very interesting. On point 1 there were instances of a centurion joining a 1 base wide superior legionary unit of three bases. This gave them 5 attacks when combined with their pila....really making this type of formation a bit gamey. Imagine facing three such mini columns supported on their flanks ...
by DennisW
Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:21 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Mixed order
Replies: 10
Views: 870

Re: Mixed order

If after combat the archers are in the rear of the mixed unit, is there any compulsion/ penalty in leaving the bows in the rear. The bows could still effectively shoot in the second rank acting like a combined formation
by DennisW
Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:37 pm
Forum: Events
Topic: Warfare 2018
Replies: 23
Views: 1598

Re: Warfare 2018

Hello Andrew,
It looks like I'm free that week end. I tried to send a PM to you this afternoon but it is stuck in the outbox so I don't think it sent. can you try and PM me?

thanks
Dennis
by DennisW
Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:12 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Charge near the edge of table
Replies: 4
Views: 165

Re: Charge near the edge of table

He may be asking about when both evaders and chargers go off table. It's clear that if the chargers move distance exceeds the sum of the evade dice roll plus separating distance then the evader is destroyed. I assume if the evaders escape then they both dice to return once they reorganise off board.
by DennisW
Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Forum: Swordpoint Rules
Topic: Retreat completely blocked when fleeing
Replies: 5
Views: 239

Re: Retreat completely blocked when fleeing

Thanks Mike, my opponent queried it again the other night.

Go to advanced search