Disengagement Questions

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Disengagement Questions

Postby Wayne Richards » Fri May 19, 2017 9:48 am

Hi Martin - two questions on disengagement as follows;

1. Can an engaged unit that is charged to the front declare a disengagement ?

"A unit that has already had a charge declared against it may not declare a disengagement since it will already have declared a charge response and so is the subject of a compulsory move"
However, a unit already engaged in combat "it does not declare a charge response".

So, can the engaged unit, once all the charges and reactions have been declared then declare their disengagement.
As the disengaging troops are moved before the chargers they can usually choose to outdistance them. But I need to check that this is the correct interpretation.

2. If a unit disengages can the unit it was fighting move or do they remain stationary recovering their order ?
I know they can't pursue but just wanted to check whether they could retire or change formation.

Cheers W.

MartinG
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Disengagement Questions

Postby MartinG » Fri May 19, 2017 1:33 pm

As the unit has not declared a charge response it can declare disengage in its charge dec phase ( assuming it doesnt have initiative anyway). Dont have rules here to check other point until Tuesday.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Disengagement Questions

Postby Wayne Richards » Fri May 19, 2017 6:27 pm

Ta.

MartinG
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Disengagement Questions

Postby MartinG » Tue May 23, 2017 3:18 pm

I'm back! For a day anyway.....I feel it best that a unit whose enemy disengages should hold its position; it can change formation if it wishes. If its enemy has done everything right it should be facing a new charge anyway.......
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Disengagement Questions

Postby Wayne Richards » Tue May 23, 2017 8:56 pm

Okay thanks for the clarification cheers W.


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest