Shooting and combined formations

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
Robin
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:31 pm

Re: Shooting and combined formations

Postby Robin » Fri Oct 13, 2017 12:40 pm

Hi Guys sorry about all this. But I am about to start painting an army ie Christian Crusaders. I designed it around using Spear/Bow Combined Formation. To say I'm now very confused would be an understatement. I will try and explain where my negative IQ has taken me.

MIXED ORDER. Normally I would expect a unit to have a front rank of Spear and a rear rank of bow, say 5 of each (Bases) that would mean 5 second rank bow shots. Ok easy so far.

COMBINED FORMATION. Then we have something completely different COMBINED FORMATION. This infers that you have a unit of Spear/Bow (say 10 bases in 2 ranks) that can all shoot as bow ie 10 shots. Measuring point from second rank. If this is correct I'm trying to find out how I base the figures. Do I have 2 spear 2 bow per base ? Can I simply have 4 spear on a base and a separate base of bow. Do I have to have 4 bow to a base or 3 bow to a base as bow are open order and spear are close order. It would be a lot easier to have spear base and bow base and simply declare to your opponent that this is a combined formation for shooting purposes !!

I could simply use MIXED ORDER which would be easier. But you double your shot with Combined Formation according to page 42.

Robin
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:31 pm

Re: Shooting and combined formations

Postby Robin » Fri Oct 13, 2017 1:25 pm

A chap called Edward has kindly posted a diagram on FB showing the correct basing method so I am now happy. If anybody contradicts him I will scream LOL So thanks Edward

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Shooting and combined formations

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Fri Oct 13, 2017 1:40 pm

Glad to hear that we are all on the same page once again, Robin! :)
‘Find something you love to do and you’ll never have to work a day in your life.’
~ Anonymous


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest