Momentum awards and charging

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
Sapper
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 1:08 pm

Momentum awards and charging

Postby Sapper » Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:23 pm

Section 3 of the Quick Reference Sheet (v1.4) on movement includes a list of occasions when a player will be awarded Momentum Tokens. Three questions~:

1. As the relevant table is headed 'cumulative award of Momentum Tokens', presumably this means that for each line which applies the player receives that number of tokens, and that higher awards do not supersede lower ones? By that I mean, for example, if an impetuous warband successfully charges into contact does it get 3 tokens, 1 for being a unit successfully charging into contact and another 2 for being an impetuous warband, or does it only get the 2 for the letter reason ? Being cumulative I would presume it would get 3 tokens ?

2. In a case where a player declares charges with, say, 3 units of Roman legionaries all in line and they all successfully contact separate enemy units, does the owning player get 3 tokens (one for each charging unit), or just one token to cover all the successful charges to contact made that turn ? I have played it that the owning player would get 3 tokens into his pool which could then be allocated as he sees fit during the ensuing round of melee. E.g., in the case above, if the owning player receives 3 tokens, could he choose to allocate all 3 to one of the three ensuing combats and none to the other 2, or would they have to be allocated (or retained in the pool) to the melee consequent upon the charge they were awarded for as the moves to contact are completed in turn ?

3. As 'allocate momentum tokens' is included in item 5 (move chargers) of the movement phase, does that mean that each player has to allocate any and all tokens they want to use in each coming melee as they move the chargers to contact and before any combats are fought ? That is, they can't wait and see how one combat goes before deciding whether or not to allocate some tokens to the next combat ?

Hope that's clear.

Cheers
Martyn

Sapper
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 1:08 pm

Re: Momentum awards and charging

Postby Sapper » Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:29 pm

Ah, reading ahead to section 4 on combat, 'allocate Momentum Tokens' must refer to giving them to the eligible player, whereas actually playing them to influence the combat is referred to as declaring Momentum Tokens per combat.

As individual combats are completed before moving on to the next one, presumably the player can wait and see how one combat goes before deciding whether or not to commit MTs to subsequent combats?

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Momentum awards and charging

Postby Wayne Richards » Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:28 pm

Hi Martyn;
1. An impetuous unit that successfully charges generates 2 momentum tokens, not 3.
2. In your example, each unit gains a momentum token. The token gained for charging can either be a) used in the forthcoming combat or b) added to the players pool to be used in the following turn. You can't allocate the 3 tokens gained from charging that turn to one unit.
3. Momentum tokens are allocated for all combats before any are resolved. The player with the initiative determines the order in which the momentum tokens are allocated. Once all momentum tokens have been allocated then you resolve the combats.
Hope this helps - cheers W.

Sapper
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 1:08 pm

Re: Momentum awards and charging

Postby Sapper » Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:17 am

Thanks Wayne, that's helpful... and a much more concise answer than my rambling question!


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest