Impetuous and initiative

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
User avatar
lero
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Impetuous and initiative

Postby lero » Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:00 pm

When an impetuous unit failed its test, it charges. Does it mean that an impetuous charge is before all other charges, even if the initiative is lost (because this test is before initiative determination) ?

If this is the case, does it also means that impetuous infantry will charge before non impetuous cavalry ? Could you choose to fail your cohesion test, or not giving usual bonus of generals ?

If this is not, does it means that losing initiative will put impetuous in counter charge and so lose their 2 momenta for being impetuous charge ?

The last option is the one we choose in a berber/capetian battle, but I am not really sure to be right.

Lero

Bob Stradling
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Impetuous and initiative

Postby Bob Stradling » Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:57 pm

The impetuous rule just means that you have to declare a charge when it is your turn in the normal sequence. So if you lose initiative your opponent will declare his cavalry charges before your declare yours and the your opponent declares their infantry charges then you yours. If one of your impetuous units is charged before it can declare a charge then it has to declare a charge response and so therefore cannot charge itself. Impetuous cavalry could of course declare a counter charge, but would not generate any momentum tokens as counter charges do not generate momentum tokens.

User avatar
lero
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Re: Impetuous and initiative

Postby lero » Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:01 pm

This is the way we played it. Thanks for clearing any doubts.


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest