Advance, charge and pursuit

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
User avatar
lero
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Advance, charge and pursuit

Postby lero » Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:43 am

Just ask to be sure to read right the rules :

When a unit fall back, its ennemy advance and can then contact with overlaping bases other unit. This is not considered as a charge, or a pursuit, but the advancing unit is stopped and then the unit that fall back is now out of combat, is this correct ?

Lero

MartinG
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Advance, charge and pursuit

Postby MartinG » Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:31 am

The unit falling back stops when it gets level with its supporting friends. The unit that follows up then fights against all those it is now in contact with.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
lero
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Re: Advance, charge and pursuit

Postby lero » Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:05 am

Yes but if the second unit is not in the same direction, the first one can't stop falling back and the one advancincgcontact only the second, doesn't it ?

MartinG
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Advance, charge and pursuit

Postby MartinG » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:12 am

That is correct. the second unit would take a cohesion test because of the flank attack.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
lero
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Re: Advance, charge and pursuit

Postby lero » Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:00 pm

Sorry keeping asking :
We counted flank bonus for combat resolution as flank attack, but did not make a cohesion test because :
1) advance is not considered as a charge (doesn't it ?),
2) the advancing unit was at the start in front zone not flank zone.
Are we wrong ?

MartinG
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Advance, charge and pursuit

Postby MartinG » Wed Oct 25, 2017 3:23 pm

In this situation the mechanism is the same as that for a pursuit, and the following up unit will contact the face of the enemy unit that the majority of its bases come into contact with, regardless of which zone it started in. Contact with a flank like this should cause a Cohesion test-would you be happy if it happened to you? :lol:
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
lero
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Re: Advance, charge and pursuit

Postby lero » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:30 pm

All things are clear to me now, thanks Martin !
Lero


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests