Applying the Combat Result Differential

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
MartinG
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Applying the Combat Result Differential

Postby MartinG » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:44 am

Following a query that arose at the "Derby" event, we have issued a clarification which is now part of the rules errata/FAQ. It is reproduced below:

Page 26: 2.2 Applying the Combat Result Differential: Below the table the paragraph should read: "Troops that are fighting to flank or rear read their combat result one line lower on the table than the difference in scores suggests, even if they achieve a differential of 0. So a flanked unit must actually win to avoid being pushed back, a draw is not enough." You should note that other special rules which alter the result line used, such as Shock Cavalry, Warband or Elephants, only apply to a genuine loser, so the differential must be at least 1. One of these special rules can be applied in addition to the flank/rear rule, but two cannot, neither do they "stack" with each other (as they each alter the "normal" combat result).
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

Bob Stradling
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Applying the Combat Result Differential

Postby Bob Stradling » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:14 pm

mmmh!

So an Ellie hits the flank of a unit, the unit is automatically on a -1 for a flank charge and there is no close order/depth bonus. They gallantly fight back and wound the ellie without taking any hits so the combat is a draw at 1 each so zero differential.

They then have to read two lines lower and have to take a break test. Seems a bit rough when they have done more casualties etc.

I understand the frustration of the flanking player, but even the best laid plans....

MartinG
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Applying the Combat Result Differential

Postby MartinG » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:41 pm

Read it again Bob.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Applying the Combat Result Differential

Postby Wayne Richards » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:47 pm

In Bob's example they would read 1 line lower, as the initial result was a draw.
Had they lost the combat by 1, then they would read the result 2 lines lower.
Correct ?
Cheers W.

Mikeharding
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:53 pm

Re: Applying the Combat Result Differential

Postby Mikeharding » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:25 am

Wayne, that looks correct to me.

Mike

Bob Stradling
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Applying the Combat Result Differential

Postby Bob Stradling » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:44 am

I am easily confused, the other day someone showed me two shovels and told me to take my pick.......

Mikeharding
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:53 pm

Re: Applying the Combat Result Differential

Postby Mikeharding » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:56 am

Good one Bob, I had not heard that one before.

Bob Stradling
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Applying the Combat Result Differential

Postby Bob Stradling » Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:09 pm

I think it was in the Beano circa 1974 ....


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest