Following a query that arose at the "Derby" event, we have issued a clarification which is now part of the rules errata/FAQ. It is reproduced below:
Page 26: 2.2 Applying the Combat Result Differential: Below the table the paragraph should read: "Troops that are fighting to flank or rear read their combat result one line lower on the table than the difference in scores suggests, even if they achieve a differential of 0. So a flanked unit must actually win to avoid being pushed back, a draw is not enough." You should note that other special rules which alter the result line used, such as Shock Cavalry, Warband or Elephants, only apply to a genuine loser, so the differential must be at least 1. One of these special rules can be applied in addition to the flank/rear rule, but two cannot, neither do they "stack" with each other (as they each alter the "normal" combat result).
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"