Command figure

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
salezna
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:05 pm

Command figure

Postby salezna » Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:11 pm

If command figure not in the unit, can they be attacked ?. And if answer yes , in that case command is lost? m I right ?

Bob Stradling
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Command figure

Postby Bob Stradling » Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:43 am

The commander can be attached to a unit and some must be e.g. beserkers. The general still has a 12" radius of command measured from the centre front of the unit. Other commanders can only enhance cohesion when attached to a unit.

Commanders can leave a unit when they wish unless the unit is subject to compulsory moves.

When attached to a unit there is a chance that the commander can become a casualty from shooting or combat when the unit suffers unsaved hits.

dave.p
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:42 pm

Re: Command figure

Postby dave.p » Sat Nov 04, 2017 10:27 am

If a commander is not in a unit he cannot be attacked.
If he is in the path of a charge or pursuit, move him aside.
The only exception that I know of is the later Persian Great king if he is in a chariot.

User avatar
lero
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Re: Command figure

Postby lero » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:01 am

But in the rules if he uses a chariot, he is attached to a chariot unit, so not alone. ;-)

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Command figure

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:32 pm

Yes, that is correct. A command stand that is attached to a unit may be attacked as part of the unit. Any command stand that is not attached to a unit, may not be attacked on its own.
‘Find something you love to do and you’ll never have to work a day in your life.’
~ Anonymous

dave.p
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:42 pm

Re: Command figure

Postby dave.p » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:09 pm

The Persian Great King remains an exception. Historically he frequently rode a heavy chariot so the army-list allows it. There are no heavy chariot units for him to join and he cannot join any other unit. See page 16 of the classical lists.

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Command figure

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:48 pm

Yes, as Dave said, the Persian Great King is the singular exception. But then, he is also the 'King of the Four Corners of the World,' so he would be exceptional. 8-)
‘Find something you love to do and you’ll never have to work a day in your life.’
~ Anonymous


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests