<t>Last night we played a game using the stakes in the Medieval rules and had the situation where the defenders won the round of combat, resulting in the attacking unit falling back 4".<br/>
In the rules, stakes are removed when the defenders move, but also stakes are obstacles and the defender does not have to pursue. <br/>
In our situation the attackers fell back rather than fled from combat, so I assumed that as the defenders were not in pursuit, but pushing the attackers back, they had to follow up, being caught up in the fight and thinking they were winning. The defenders would then have moved beyond the stakes, which had to then be removed.
Can anyone please let me know what the correct action is and where it is in the rules.