I fought a game the other night and a situation arose at the end of a battle line. It looked like the right hand end of the diagram on page 28 of the rule book.
1) Unit D confers a -1 on a battle line because of it's "proximity" to units H's flank. However, D needs to be WITHIN 1" of H to do this ( page 26 RH column, paragraph 1)
2) However, D cannot move within 1" of H unless it is charging ( Page 20 LH column, para 4).
The two statements are a contradiction. Should 1) be changed to another distance or should it be changed so that any enemy capable of charging H confers a -1?
...either way H was in trouble.
a turn later my cav skirmishers formed a line behind many of the enemy battle line and prevented any fall back, therefore any units falling back were destroyed instead. My opponent thought this was rather harsh . What do you think?