Hi to all,
a little doubt about charging cavalry skirmishers that are part of a line of battle with an other cavalry unit.
I will use drwaings hoping to make myself clear:
The black unit is a cavalry unit that, for what I understand in the rules MUST charge the two units in a straight line, because the red units have a narrower front. The red units are cavakry skirmishers in line and a normal cavalry unit.
The doubt is: If the skirmishers succeds in evading, tha black unita charge is considered a failed charge?
I should say yes, because if it continue its charge can't contact the enemy cavalry with its center point, am I correct?
The second, but similar case, is if the skirmish unit it's not part of a line of battle:
In this case, tha black cavalry can charge the single skirmishers unit, if we assume that it will do it following a straight ahead line, and that the skirmishers are able to evade, the rule says that can impact other "revealed units" (4.7 page 19) but "without any chage of direction" so the end of the charge should be the same as before, and so could not be considered a charge but a fialed one, because it can't contact the enemy with its center point.
it's that correct?
Thank you in advance for any help