Drill and charge

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
duxjack
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:48 pm

Drill and charge

Postby duxjack » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:07 pm

In a game we have this situation :
swordpoint.png
the principes see the phalanx.
Can the principes declare a charge on the phalanx ?
They are drill : so at the strat of the mouvment they turn to the side 90° and then can make the charge mouve.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Bob Stradling
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Drill and charge

Postby Bob Stradling » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:49 pm

Yes, as they can see the unit at the start of the turn.

BJ Barry
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:47 am

Re: Drill and charge

Postby BJ Barry » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:51 pm

For what I do understand by the rules... Yes, the can.
But it's better wait for Martin's answer ;)

BJ Barry
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:47 am

Re: Drill and charge

Postby BJ Barry » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:52 pm

Or Bob's one :D

MartinG
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Drill and charge

Postby MartinG » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:55 am

As the principes can see the unit at the start of the turn, they may declare the charge. They can achieve the charge by a drilled turn, but in teh position shown they do not need to as a simple move will allow them to bring their centre front into contact.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

billS
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:02 pm

Re: Drill and charge

Postby billS » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:39 am

The latitude in turning ability for most troops in the rules makes the "drilled" 90 degree turn ability pretty much redundant.

MartinG
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Drill and charge

Postby MartinG » Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:40 pm

Drilled is for true 90 degree turns and would normally not be necessary in a situation where charging was envisaged, it allows movement outside the usual arc and can be very useful-there are also other benefits of course.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

billS
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:02 pm

Re: Drill and charge

Postby billS » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:59 am

Yes - the disengage without cohesion testing is particularly useful


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest