routed unit

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
duxjack
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:48 pm

routed unit

Postby duxjack » Sat Feb 10, 2018 7:47 pm

can a skirmish unit charge a routed formed unit ?

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: routed unit

Postby Wayne Richards » Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:25 pm

Yes. A routing unit is not formed so may be charged by skirmishers.

dave.p
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:42 pm

Re: routed unit

Postby dave.p » Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:40 pm

Is this still seen as correct?
Not everybody seems to be aware of it and I've never seen it in an errata.

Dave.p

DennisW
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 5:43 pm

Re: routed unit

Postby DennisW » Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:12 pm

Dave, a reply by Martin under the rules section/ "skirmish attack" read the following

Top
MartinG
Re: Skimish attack
PostMon Nov 13, 2017 9:55 am

A fleeing unit is not formed and can be charged by skirmishers.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"


Cheers Dennis

Mikeharding
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: Waterlooville

Re: routed unit

Postby Mikeharding » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:22 am

Looking at the issue of a fleeing unit being formed or unformed, the front of the rule book defines a formed unit becoming unformed when the unit size falls below the minimum number of bases as set out in the rules (again in the first few pages). It does not mention anything about a fleeing unit being unformed. Plus, I think, though I could be wrong, that when a formed unit becomes an unformed unit it can not rally as per the rules, therefore by definition if a formed fleeing unit is unformed it can not rally, which goes against the principal of the rules.

Also trying to be a bit realistic, a mass formed unit running and being chased by a few skirmishers (with no other support) it is likely that the skirmishers will get their butts kicked, and would never risk running into a mass of enemy troops fleeing or not.

Interested to see what others think - Martin any comments would be appreciated, or we could discuss this at Swindon in a couple of weeks.

MartinG
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: routed unit

Postby MartinG » Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:17 pm

A fleeing unit is neither a formed unit nor an unformed unit, but a fleeing unit. Fleeing units can be charged by skirmishers.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests