Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
Gunny Highway
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:17 pm

Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby Gunny Highway » Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:30 pm

To All,
Another point of clarification needed:
When a drilled unit uses its 90 degree turn how is this done? Does the unit pivot in place, wheel off one end, or does it turn the center stand and form up on that stand?
Respectfully,
Gunny

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Sat Jan 28, 2017 3:31 pm

I play it as 1/2 an About Face as per p. 21, i.e. the unit remains in place and pivots 90 degrees.

Cheers,
Scott
VENTOSA VIRI RESTABIT

MartinG
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby MartinG » Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:17 am

The turn is accomplished by the bases all turning to the side while the unit footprint remains in the same place. Unlike other manouevres it is not done by following the file leader, hence the restriction to highly trained units.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:55 pm

Ahhh! So just to confirm, if a drilled infantry unit is originally 3 bases wide by 2 deep, then after performing a 90 degree turn it would be 2 bases wide by 3 deep with its new facing. Do I have that right?

Cheers,
Scott
VENTOSA VIRI RESTABIT

MartinG
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby MartinG » Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:09 pm

That's correct. You can then expand or move.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Mon Jan 30, 2017 4:54 pm

Thanks for that, Martin!

Cheers,
Scott
VENTOSA VIRI RESTABIT

k_p
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:06 pm

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby k_p » Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:51 pm

Can a drilled unit of Roman Legionaries turn 90 degrees and charge 3" into the flank of a Pike Phalanx if the front rank can see the enemy.

Bob Stradling
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby Bob Stradling » Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:11 am

If they can see the unit at the start of the turn, if the front centre of the Roman unit will impact the phalanx and they are in range then you have a legal charge.

k_p
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:06 pm

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby k_p » Fri Jul 21, 2017 5:57 pm

Thanks Bob,
I assume the front centre changes with drilled troops when they turn 90 degrees.

MartinG
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Drilled Unit's 90 Degree turn

Postby MartinG » Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:14 pm

No a charge cannot be made, as the turn to flank occurs during Remaining Moves. Charge moves have already happened at this point.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest