Break tests

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
billS
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:02 pm

Break tests

Postby billS » Thu Mar 15, 2018 11:07 am

2 units in line of battle with each other lose a combat by 8.

As they are in line of battle, this is modified to 4 and both have to take a break test. They subtract the difference in scores from their cohesion value. Do they subtract 4 or 8?

If they answer is 8 then that means that any unit in a line of battle which has to take a break test will nearly automatically fail it (as they have to have lost the combat by at least 7)

Mikeharding
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: Waterlooville

Re: Break tests

Postby Mikeharding » Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:01 pm

Hi Bill,

Martin will correct me if I am wrong, but you use the modified result as the deduction, so in your example above both units test against their cohesion less 4.

Mike

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Break tests

Postby Wayne Richards » Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:52 pm

It's the difference between the winner's and loser's combat score ;)

billS
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:02 pm

Re: Break tests

Postby billS » Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:52 pm

You can get a really weird result here. If both units in the battle line are fighting individual combats against obliging opponents who have lined up exactly and both lose by 4, then the result is just a push back and discouraged tokens. However, if there is overlap and thus single combat, and they throw exactly the same dice and lose by a combined total of 8, then its effectively autobreak time for both units.

That's a hell of a price to pay for an inch of deviation (so to speak).

MartinG
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Break tests

Postby MartinG » Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:25 am

Mike you are almost right, but you would of course test against your cohesion, adding 4 to the dice roll. This is important when using commanders to modify cohesion.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

User avatar
lero
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Re: Break tests

Postby lero » Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:32 am

I thought to be in line of battle it was enough to be at 1 in the flank of a supported unit, but as I read it an engaged unit can't count for a line of battle (case of 8 COH test above) ?

MartinG
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Break tests

Postby MartinG » Sun Mar 18, 2018 1:41 pm

Yes an engaged unit counts in line of battle
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest