charge problem 2

A forum for discussing items specifically related to the rules
duxjack
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:48 pm

charge problem 2

Postby duxjack » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:25 am

a question
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: charge problem 2

Postby Wayne Richards » Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:34 pm

Any charge against multiple targets must be made by moving straight ahead. In this example the Triari declare a charge against both the skirmishers and the elephant.
The skirmishers must evade and the triari contact the elephant.
Cheers Wayne.

duxjack
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:48 pm

Re: charge problem 2

Postby duxjack » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:09 pm

But it is not a charge on multiple target, the skirmisher are behind the elephant.
The question is : can the triari charge the elephant, and in This case does the skirmisher evade?

MartinG
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: charge problem 2

Postby MartinG » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:34 pm

The triarii are wider than the elephant which is why Wayne refers to them charging both units.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

duxjack
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:48 pm

Re: charge problem 2

Postby duxjack » Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:20 pm

ok then if the triari and elephant are cavalry unit, and the space betwen them is 8" (for example) can the triari cavalry unit charge the elephant cavalry unit, then the skrimicher must evade.
wat happens is they evad move is 3"?
in other word :
skimisher on the path of a charge must evade ?

wat happens if their evade move is too small?

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am
Location: USA

Re: charge problem 2

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:06 pm

Roman triarii are legionary infantry, not cavalry.
"Experience is the teacher of all things."
~ Gaius Julius Caesar

duxjack
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:48 pm

Re: charge problem 2

Postby duxjack » Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:25 am

thank you ! I know I play Roman !
it's just a question of what happens if the different units are farther apart. what happens to the skirmishers if they are on the way of a charge.

Mikeharding
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: Waterlooville

Re: charge problem 2

Postby Mikeharding » Wed Apr 18, 2018 9:42 am

Best not to think about cavalry and elephants in your example, as cavalry can not charge elephants anyway. I think in your example, but put a formed infantry unit in place of the elephant, if the skirmishers end up being charged, and do not evade enough they will be destroyed in the combat phase. You can only declare a charge against multiple units if they are along side each other, as per the initial example, if you add an 8" difference you can not declare a charge against multiple targets, so the choice becomes charge the skirmishers or charge the formed infantry unit (instead of the elephant) but clearly not a straight line to the infantry, due to the skirmishers, so the charge distance is reduced by 25%.

Martin will correct me if I have answered your question incorrectly.
Mike


Return to “Swordpoint Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests