Page 2 of 3

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Fri May 11, 2018 10:47 pm
by A Lot of Gaul
If you charge an elephant in the flank or rear, you receive combat bonuses but also run the risk of possibly being stampeded. On the other hand, if you charge the elephant's front, you receive no bonus for flank/rear attacks, but you also have no risk of being stampeded. this creates an interesting risk/reward decision that would not exist if ya unit could simply charge the elephant from any side without ever having to risk being stampeded itself.

It is also possible that Martin may one day decide to issue an erratum declaring that an elephant stampede should be based on the direction from which the beast was attacked, as you have suggested. I would be content in either case.

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 4:11 pm
by Keith T
Don't know how Martin would play it but if my regular opponent charges an elephant in the flank and forces it to stampede, it does so away from the unit as if it had been facing it, like wise if charged in the rear it does not stampede into the unit that has caused it to run but away from it.

It runs away from the pain.

Just how we play it.

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 10:57 am
by MartinG
Guys- an elephant stampedes if it fails a Cohesion test caused by shooting casualties or the loss of its mahout. If it loses a combat and fails its break test it flees in the same direction as other troops. So the only time the issues raised above could occur is if the elephant is attacked in the flank or rear and the mahout is killed in the fighting, causing a Cohesion test. if this is failed the elephant will stampede. The direction is worked out as if the elephant was facing its opponents.

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 1:01 pm
by duxjack
ok
so if the elephant stanped after a flanck or rear shoot wat is the direction of the stamped ?

if the elephant flees after a breaktest, can he make a rallying test ?
if a elephant stamped can he make a rallyint test ?

for me there is a contradiction if the elephant can rally if he flees and not if he stampede.

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 2:40 pm
by Wayne Richards
Elephants cannot rally.

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 4:50 pm
by A Lot of Gaul
Given Martin's clarification above, I imagine that an elephant stampeded by shooting from its flank or rear would undergo the same process as for the death of its mahout, i.e. "the direction is worked out as if the elephant was facing its opponents."

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 7:50 am
by duxjack
I did not find in the rules the point that an elephant can not rally.
I have seen that he can not use the cohesion of the general.

where can I find this rule?

thank you

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 8:38 am
by Wayne Richards
It's covered in the stampeding movement on page 40 of the main rulebook.
""Once it has started to stampede it continues stampeding in the same direction for the rest of the game or until it leaves the table".
Cheers W.

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 10:02 am
by MartinG
Yes a fleeing elephant is stampeding.

Re: how does a elephant stamped ?

Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 10:36 am
by duxjack
does it mean that he follows the stampeding rules ?