Is my polybian army valid ?

duxjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:48 pm

Is my polybian army valid ?

Postby duxjack » Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:07 am

hello


i will play this polybian army.

1x Dictator 50 pts
2x tribun 40 pts
1 x 4 socle roman cavalry (javelin) 76 pts
1x 6 german cavalry (light armor) 120 pts
1x 4 velites (Trowing spear) 36 pts
3x3 Hastati (light armor) 69pts x3 = 207 pts
3x3 Principes (Drilled) 78pts x3 = 234 pts
1 x 3 triari 84 pts
1 x 4 Baleric slinger 40 pts
Pergam allies
1 x 4 Cretan bowmen 40 pts
1 x 6 thureopphoroi 69 pts
(996 pts)

is this list valid ?

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Is my polybian army valid ?

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Thu Aug 03, 2017 11:49 am

Your list looks 'legal' to me. However, your 3-base hastati and principes units will receive no depth bonus in combat, and will immediately become unformed if they lose any bases.
VENTOSA VIRI RESTABIT

Bob Stradling
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Is my polybian army valid ?

Postby Bob Stradling » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:25 pm

You may want to think about units of 5 bases for the Romans - the stamina rule means it is difficult to get rid of the first base, but not impossible. Generally six bases works for other close order troops and cavalry and 6 or 8 bases for open order foot.

3 or 4 base units are both vulnerable to small amounts of shooting and will also potentially get discouraged easily (10%) is easier to achieve with small units and give up lots of momentum tokens.

I can understand the desire to have lots of units to get round the flanks of the opponents battle line, but you have to have a viable battle line of your own!

duxjack
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:48 pm

Re: Is my polybian army valid ?

Postby duxjack » Thu Aug 03, 2017 7:21 pm

i dispose my roman unit with a 2 socle front, if they arre attaqued by adverse infantry, they have against them 6 dice +/-2 : 4 hit no sufficiant to cause a socle lose.

User avatar
A Lot of Gaul
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 am

Re: Is my polybian army valid ?

Postby A Lot of Gaul » Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:26 pm

The opposing pike unit also would always strike first, with any kills totaled and opposing bases removed before any other combat factors were applied. And as Bob pointed out, a 3-base legionary unit would be quite vulnerable to shooting from opposing bow- or sling-armed troops. But if you feel that the benefits you cite are worth the risk, then more power to you! :)
VENTOSA VIRI RESTABIT

Bob Stradling
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Is my polybian army valid ?

Postby Bob Stradling » Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:06 am

Going to a two wide frontage works both ways - you don't get many attacks in either. Your opponent has depth bonus, will outnumber you more easily you may well be disrupted so that is 3 against you on the combat resolution before you start, when you start going backwards it is hard to stop! However, if it works then let us know, always interesting to see how different variants work out.


Return to “Classical Armies”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest