Sorry, Andy, but that's not quite correct. There are two points to consider:
1. According to the rulebook, the rear rank also counts as complete with 2 bases, so you could loose one base in a 3x3 formation and still claim the close order bonus.
2. When charging over 4" with a Massed Pike block, you do not get the close order bonus (in 1st round) anyway, so at least for aggressive Swiss and Landsknechts this not such a problematic issue.
Despite this, I also think the Massed Pike rule should see some further playtesting and revision.