close order in case charge 8"

A general discussion forum
salezna
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:05 pm

close order in case charge 8"

Postby salezna » Sat Aug 18, 2018 11:02 am

1. If my close order charge enemy unit 8". m I lose close order bonus for combat result ?
2. if my center of close order is 9" of enemy corner but my corner is 6" of enemy corner", may I declare charge strait ahead and touch with my corner enemy corner ?
3. If is option 2 possible. Have I close order bonus for combat result or not ?

:D

Bob Stradling
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: close order in case charge 8"

Postby Bob Stradling » Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:05 pm

There are only two situations that I am aware of where close order infantry can charge more than 4" and up to 8".

1) They are behind the fank of an enemy unit and there is no other enemy unit within 8" to impact on their movement

2) They are drilled Romans and then only EIR and one other that I cannot recall off the top of my head

In both situations they lose the close order bonus.

If the centre of the unit cannot reach the enemy unit then generally it is not a valid charge.

Xarepunk
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:16 pm

Re: close order in case charge 8"

Postby Xarepunk » Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:08 pm

One more situation:

3) Units of Massed Pikes can charge 8" but definitely forfeit their close order bonus, as mentioned in the rule.

Bob Stradling
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: close order in case charge 8"

Postby Bob Stradling » Sat Aug 18, 2018 8:04 pm

Oh yes I forgot about massed pike!


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest