Apologies if this topic has already been covered earlier, but we need further clarification:
a) Is charge (like a normal movement) of a Close Order Infantry limited to half-move (4") due to the presence of enemy within 8"?
My opponent argued that technically a charge is not a "movement", hence potential difference of treatment.
Also this limitation to charges did not apply in "predecessor" rules such as WAB2.
Therefore, can Martin or anyone else kindly confirm?
b) in a prior topic, Martin stated " Close order can only exceed 4"charge in the circumstances outlined in your other strand.", but I fail to understand what exception he is referring to:
Can someone please explain again?
c) and finally, just to clarify I get it right (in case (1) is correct):
if a Close Order Infantry wants to charge an Open Order one, the Open Order is actually always able to move back by 4" (about-face for 1/2 movement, then 4" move, then second about-face for free), therefore the Close Order infantry will never be able to reach its Open Order opponent
- unless of course it bumps into an obstacle or reaches the border of the table.
Is this correct?