Shock Cavalry shifting bonus

A general discussion forum
User avatar
lero
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Shock Cavalry shifting bonus

Postby lero » Sun Nov 03, 2019 4:17 pm

Hello,
The limitation about this shifting bonus :
A) When you engaged for a first time a unit in all the battle, so once per game.
B) When you engaged for a first time a unit, so once per game for each unit.
C) Each time you engaged a unit in combat, so once per fight for each unit.
D) Other (so explain please !).
THanks !
Lero

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Shock Cavalry shifting bonus

Postby Wayne Richards » Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:20 pm

Hi Lero, the shock cavalry rule confers 5 bonus effects.
1. Applies all game.
2. Applies in the first round of each combat.
3. Applies in the first round of each combat.
4. Applies once, for each unit.
5. Applies all game.
Hope this helps - Cheers W.

User avatar
lero
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Re: Shock Cavalry shifting bonus

Postby lero » Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:29 am

Hi Waynes,
On point 4, when you say it applies once for each unit, which one do you talk about ? The unit that charge or be charged ?
So my question will be more accurate : once a unit had received a charge with schock, no further charge will get this bonus, even from an other shock cavalry ? If a shock cavalry get this bonus, it will get another one when it charges a new unit ?
Thanks !
Lero

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Shock Cavalry shifting bonus

Postby Wayne Richards » Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:47 am

Hi Lero, the rules apply to the unit with the shock cavalry rule not the unit it is fighting against.
So, for example, I have a unit of mounted Norman knights that are shock cavalry. They are fighting against some Vikings. On turn two, the Norman knights charge a unit of open order Hirdmen. The knights win the combat by a factor of 1 but as the Hirdmen are the first formed unit the knights have fought against the combat result is read one line lower, so the Hirdmen get pushed back.
Later in the game, lets say turn 5, the same unit of knights charge against a unit of open order Bondi. Again, the Knights win the combat by 1. However, as this is not the first formed unit they have charged or countercharged they do not benefit from reading the result one line lower and so the combat resolution remains at 1.

Hope this helps. Cheers W.

User avatar
lero
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am
Location: Paris

Re: Shock Cavalry shifting bonus

Postby lero » Tue Nov 05, 2019 11:35 pm

Hi Waynes,
Thanks, it is now crystal clear ! So I will put a marker to show the Shock capacity and remove it after the first fight as you do with veteran marker.
Best regards,
Lero

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Shock Cavalry shifting bonus

Postby Wayne Richards » Wed Nov 06, 2019 2:33 pm

Yep, that's a good way to keep track of it.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest