Shieldwall AND two-handed axe ??
Posted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:18 am
Hi,
Is it possible to combine the SHIELDWALL special rule (therefore implying you carry a shield) altogether with a TWO-HANDED axe (offering a +2 Defence modifieron your attacks) ?
Physically, I would argue NOT, as warriors only have two hands, and not three!
But maybe it is legit from a pure gaming perspective?
In the Vikings list (page 23) the Hirdmen have "light armour, spear and shield. Shieldwall."
Next line, they "may change to two-handed axe".
Logically, I would assume that they change the whole lot [spear and shield] for [two-handed axe], and therefore they lose the shield and the Shieldwall defense modifier if they use the two-handed axe.
My opponent told me yesterday night that it could actually be legit, and he claimed this was discuss somewhere in the Forum, but I cannot see where.
Can someone please give some light?
Thank you!
Is it possible to combine the SHIELDWALL special rule (therefore implying you carry a shield) altogether with a TWO-HANDED axe (offering a +2 Defence modifieron your attacks) ?

Physically, I would argue NOT, as warriors only have two hands, and not three!

But maybe it is legit from a pure gaming perspective?
In the Vikings list (page 23) the Hirdmen have "light armour, spear and shield. Shieldwall."
Next line, they "may change to two-handed axe".
Logically, I would assume that they change the whole lot [spear and shield] for [two-handed axe], and therefore they lose the shield and the Shieldwall defense modifier if they use the two-handed axe.
My opponent told me yesterday night that it could actually be legit, and he claimed this was discuss somewhere in the Forum, but I cannot see where.
Can someone please give some light?

Thank you!