Multiple combats

equites64
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:45 pm

Multiple combats

Postby equites64 » Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:07 pm

is there a limit about units involved in ONE COMBAT ?
IF a line of battle of 5 units is in melee with another line of battle of 6 units then all 11 units are involved together ?
if yes , how do you apply the "Line of Battle" rule ?

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 408
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Multiple combats

Postby Wayne Richards » Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:28 pm

There is no limit regarding the number of units involved in one combat.

For line of battle simply divide the combat result by the number of supporting units in the battle line. Note that a unit may count up to one unit one each flank, so the most that you divide by is 3.

For example, units ABC are fighting against WXYZ in one combat

AAAABBBBBCCCC
WWWWXXYYYZZZ

The ABC's lose the combat by 6. Each unit may now modify the result by the Battle line.
Unit A has itself and one unit on its flank (B), so divides the result by 2. (6 divided by 2 = 3)
Unit B has itself and two units on its flan (A&C), so divides the result by 3 (6 divided by 3 = 2)
Unit C has itself and one unit on its flank (B), so divides the result by 2 (6 divided by 2 = 3).

Hope this helps. Cheers W.

equites64
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:45 pm

Re: Multiple combats

Postby equites64 » Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:26 am

Hi Richards, thank you.
Just a further Q about your exmple :
even if there are multiple units involved, only once is it possible to use the Momentum Tokens ?

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 408
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Multiple combats

Postby Wayne Richards » Mon Aug 24, 2020 8:55 am

Yes. Each side may only use up to 3 momentum tokens per combat per round regardless of the number of units in the combat.

equites64
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:45 pm

Re: Multiple combats

Postby equites64 » Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:57 am

Hi Wayne,
then in a multiple combat it's enough to have 1 unit Closed Order only for getting +2 and 1 Unit Discorauged only for getting -1, is it right ?

User avatar
Wayne Richards
Posts: 408
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Multiple combats

Postby Wayne Richards » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:01 am

Correct. Each combat bonus is only applied once regardless of the number of units in the combat.

Mattia75
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 9:25 am

Re: Multiple combats

Postby Mattia75 » Thu Aug 04, 2022 9:06 am

Hello. Some question on multiple combats.

1St question
If a battle line formed by, let's say, 4 units, successfully charge an enemy line made of 5 units, does the charger gain 4 momentum tokens or just 1?

2Nd question
If the units in the battle line aren't perfectly aligned, I find a little difficult to assign hits/save to units with different unit. For example:

AAABBBBCCCCDDD-
-EEEFFFFGGGGHHH

A and H will roll 2 less dices (other infantry) because the center is engaged but the full frontage isn't and will go with all dices against E and D. "C" center is engaged with G, but frontage is not fully, so it will roll 4 dices (6-2) while it will roll 2 dices (6-4) versus F. Is this reasoning correct?
If C had throwing spears, will it all +2 dices to both the attacks vs G and F?

3Rd question
G is forced to fall back and become discouraged by a combat result. C can't follow, becaus is still engaged with a part of F. G can't charge back the following turn, because is discouraged but can be moved ahead at least a bit to reform the battle line with H an F?

Thanks a lot.
Mattia

MartinG
Posts: 825
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Multiple combats

Postby MartinG » Thu Aug 04, 2022 9:24 am

1 each charging unit gets a token. However in yuor example, they cannot all be used in the combat.
2 Yes you are correct. Throwing spears allow a total of +2 dice, you can decide where to apply them.
3 yes
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"

Mattia75
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 9:25 am

Re: Multiple combats

Postby Mattia75 » Fri Aug 05, 2022 12:17 pm

Thanks Martin.

One last question for the moment:
If three units charge another three enemy units and they all came perfectly aligned and adjacent:

AAABBBCCC
DDDEEEFFF

Is this solved as a single multiple combat or a three indipendent combats?

Regards

MartinG
Posts: 825
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Multiple combats

Postby MartinG » Tue Aug 09, 2022 10:10 am

That would be three separate combats.
"No one ever achieved anything without making a few mistakes along the way"


Return to “Milites Mundi”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest