The question is how many bases fight back if you are not in a wedge! That aspect of the wedge rules seems to of been forgotten about.
Fighting back with just the one base in contact with the single figure? (this would be just two dice for infantry and one dice for cavalry) this would be a very one-sided.
If the wedge is considered to be 3 bases wide then it would have the frontage of 150mm, if it contacted an infantry unit dead centre then it wound contact the equivalent of 4 infantry bases, frontage of 160mm (with a 5mm gap to either side), so infantry would return the fight with 8D6 presuming no casualties, generals, or overlapping bases.
It's important as this will affect how many dice the infantry (or others) will roll, hence my question asking do they treat it as a three wide?
And let's not get into being charged and contacting at the end of a unit, Cavalry or Chariots fighting back and all the other situations not covered (where is line of battle measured from, what about Nervousness), just yet, but they will have to be at some point.
I like the idea of having wedges back in the game, I just need more information on how they work to be able to play the game with them in it.
I'm happy to help/come up with some suggestions if you'd like.
"Religious wars are basically people killing each other over who has the better imaginary friend" -Napoleon Bonaparte